Dental Hygienist or Dental Assistant?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (50)

Linds in Nashville, Tennessee

82 months ago

I am a single mother of 1 and workign two jobs to keep my head above water. I graduated with honors from high school but did not ever continue my education. I am looking to go back to school in the Dental field but I am having trouble figuring out which path to take. I will not have hours and hours to dedicate to school but I am willing to work hard. I have heard Hygienist school is incredibly time consuming but the salary is obviously better. I want to make a better life for me and my child, does anyone have any experience in this (especially in the Nashville area? I could use all the suggestions I can get.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (63) / No (13) Reply - Report abuse

Jennifer in Norfolk, Virginia

82 months ago

Dental hygiene school is EXTREMELY time consuming! I got my bachelors degree which took 4 years...and the last two years I was at school Every single day from about 8am to 6 or 7 pm...plus all the studying time that it takes to actually pass. Hygiene is a great job and the pay is great..but if you are worried about time...I would be an assistant. They make good money as well...but only require some training. :-) Good luck to you!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (24) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Sandy in Grand Rapids, Michigan

80 months ago