RDH and RN??? in need of advice

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

pre? student in Hawthorne, California

66 months ago

Hello good people, I come to you all seeking your wisdon and advice.
I start school this January in Cerritos Ca. I plan on taking and passing all my pre reqs. I also graduate from my local Dental Assisting program that I started recently. I assisted a few Hygienists and DDS's at a local annual free clinic and gained alot of interest in the Hygiene field. To me, it is a really fun dirty job that just so happens to pay well. On the other hand, I have also wanted an exciting and secure career as an RN. I know a few RN's that work part time when I was a scrub tech student externing at a hospital, they were good people and alot of them were working part-time. So what if I wanted to do one first and then the other? and when I am done with both, I can be able to do both occupations?? If this route is not considered a bad idea, how should I do it? I was thinking about giving Hygiene my all at first, graduate, find a gig with minimal hours so that I can pursue the RN career right after. Or vice versa. I really dont care about time, I have plenty to spare. I also dont mind much of the oversaturation of RDH in CA for I am confident in finding employment oppurtunities. This might be a bad idea because I have been thinking about this hard for a few days now what career path I would want to choose. I was a bit discouraged about chasing my DDS aspiration due to money and time but thats another story for another forum I guess. Any advice about anything I am doing from anyone would be greatly appreciated, thanks for reading.

- Was this comment helpful?
Reply - Report abuse

rdh20 in Lebanon, Illinois

66 months ago