Dental Hygiene, Is it worth it?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Siaca in Mineola, New York

20 months ago

Hey all,

I am currently a Freshman at a University working towards a degree in Human Biology to become a PA. Right now child support covers nearly all of my education, (I get free room since I am also working as an RA on campus). My mom seems to be struggling without the cushion that child support has offered her throughout the past and child support only goes until I am 21. So by the time I am a senior I will be paying college on my own, and PA school as well.

My main question that I really want to address, is if it seems better to take a break from my Human Bio degree and become a dental hygienist. I feel as if it will make me financially secure, and is an excellent part time job to help relieve some of the burden of student loans (especially in comparison to my minimum wage retail job). I feel like there are so many pro's to becoming a dental hygienist but my family disagrees and is telling me to stick with my PA plan, saying that what I make in 1 years work of PA will cover all my debt. Even if my family is right, I do NOT like the idea of being in a large amount of debt and I want a stable plan B.

Right now I'm leaning towards becoming a Dental Hygienist but I really want to know from those who have experience in the field if this is a good plan and if the extra time and money put into schooling is worth it!

Thanks for the help!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

steph in Arlington, Virginia

20 months ago

I agree with your family, stick to your original plan.
I would also double check with PA's, If I'm not mistaken every certain amount of years they have to retake some exam. Nurse practionioners sp?? do not.