What does a competitive application for dental hygiene school look like?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Scarlett in Seattle, Washington

18 months ago

I've volunteered as an admin assistant at a low-income dental clinic and would really love to become a hygienist. However, I'm concerned that I won't get accepted into any schools due to the high level of competition. Would anyone who has completed or has been accepted into a DH program please give me an idea of what specific qualifications they look for? I know they say excellent grades, relevant work experience, etc. but I's like to have a more definite idea of what qualifies as "excellent" grades and "solid" work experience.

Just to give you a sense of my background, I started college at age 16, graduated from the University of Washington magna cum laude with a BA in Political Science. As an undergrad, I won a research award for $1,000 (Human Rights related) and coauthored a paper with my psych professor that was published in a professional journal. I volunteered for over 4 years and worked as a legal assistant. Will these accomplishments count for something even though they have absolutely nothing to do with DH? Doing the science prereqs alone will take nearly 2 years, and I really want to make sure to make the most of my time before applying.

I'd REALLY appreciate hearing back so I can get a realistic sense of how what I should do to reach my goal of becoming a hygienist.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

still retired in Texas

18 months ago