Is being an Esthetician as bad as everyone is making it sound?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 108)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

TB in Fountain Valley, California

42 months ago

I wouldn't suggest becoming an esthetician. I graduated in 2003 and got my license and applied everywhere. Nobody wants to hire a newly licensed esthetician. It is very competitive out there. Spas pay you a commision per service. It sucks because you will never have a steady paycheck. You will never know how much money you will bring in that month. I aslo heard that most spas have slow seasons. They don't even pay or even offer you benefits. And yes, most spas will require you to work weekends.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (77) / No (51) Reply - Report abuse

Sl in Livermore, California

42 months ago

This forum and comments are meant to be helpful not for the display of sarcasms.
To answer your question...simple, attend a Trade Show and you will meet thousands of successful estheticians.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (91) / No (37) Reply - Report abuse

EducatedEsthetician in California

42 months ago

Liesy - this is a challenging time to be an esthetician. If you do not have an entrepreneurial approach you will not meet your income goals....working for someone else at $10-20 per hour simply does not cut it, though it will be worth your while to be an employee while you "learn the ropes". Before you make your decision, do some self scrutiny - are you outgoing? Can you drive business and self promote? Can you retain clients? This is not a job for someone who wants to sit around and wait for someone else to bring the clients to them. Might have worked in 2006, but it certainly doesn't work now.