B.S. Geology, need job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 220)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

wilkeje in Bluefield, West Virginia

66 months ago

mikeg19_82 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin said: I graduated in May 2008 with a BS in Geosciences from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. I have had no luck finding work. I've applied for many many jobs including oil companies, as well as local, regional, and national environmental consulting jobs. One world-renowned company I just about got hired to in Washington, DC had a hiring freeze after my final interviews. My resume is on most databases and the "environmental jobs" websites.

What do degree holders do with this degree? I'm currently a part-time bank teller. I need help.

I'm in the same boat - BS in geology, been applying for 7 months. I hope someone provides some insight!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No (17) Reply - Report abuse

wellsitegeo

64 months ago

I am a wellsite geologist in Canada. The oil an gas industry is highly cyclical, so going back to school when things are slow is a good idea. In fact that's what I did about eight years ago, the last time there was a lull. It will be ok.

Your other option is to sell fruit by the side of the road, that also worked for me. Find something that you can make some money doing and that you can leave at the drop of a hat. Doing something like that will also give a sense of what it takes to make a living and an appreciation for where you are when you get there down the road.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Mike in Milwaukee, WI in Arlington, Tennessee

64 months ago

Update got a job (not related to Geology)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Matthew in Grand Rapids, Michigan

60 months ago