B.S. Geology, need job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 191)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

wilkeje in Bluefield, West Virginia

78 months ago

mikeg19_82 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin said: I graduated in May 2008 with a BS in Geosciences from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. I have had no luck finding work. I've applied for many many jobs including oil companies, as well as local, regional, and national environmental consulting jobs. One world-renowned company I just about got hired to in Washington, DC had a hiring freeze after my final interviews. My resume is on most databases and the "environmental jobs" websites.

What do degree holders do with this degree? I'm currently a part-time bank teller. I need help.

I'm in the same boat - BS in geology, been applying for 7 months. I hope someone provides some insight!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (33) / No (22) Reply - Report abuse

Matthew in Grand Rapids, Michigan

71 months ago

I'm glad to hear that I am not the only one having problems finding a job with a BS in geo. Got my degree June 08 and I am still serving at the hotel I've been working at for 5 years. I've even been trying to get an internship with some company, but you need a minimum 3.5 gpa to get into most of them. I am so in debt I don't think I can afford to go back to grad school, but I don't know what my other options are. The local college where I live offers a wind-energy technician certification that only takes about 26 weeks to complete, so I am thinking about taking that avenue--maybe get the certification and see if I can get something that would allow me to go back to school for a masters.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

Ryan Weller in Sydney, Australia

71 months ago

The Geo job market is a bit better in Australia.
Coal Seam Gas (aka CBM) and metal/coal mining are on the rise with demand from China and Asia.