Starting out...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (43)

Host

How did you get your start doing interior designer work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

Cacey in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

88 months ago

My first freelance job I had out of school was actually from my internship at Bombay Company, its a Furniture and Home Decor store. I was an Assistant Manager at the time.A customer came into the store and I started asking simple open ended questions like a (client questionaire) and the conversation took off from there. I went to her home and sketched out a few ideas, got some of her ideas then did some research. After a few more meetings I re-spaced planned her living room, dining room and foyer. It was a great....I loved it and it was really informal and relaxing. The key to get experiance is to just be open and take control you no what your doing for the most part, yes there might be some things you arn't sure of but your client knows that your still a student. In this case it was my first job per say...so I did not charge, she offered and I replied "It was a great experiance to work for you, any time". I did just graduate with my BA from the Art Institute of Pgh, my client did no that I was in my 2nd year at AIP. Im currently in the process of finding a job in Hawaii.

Hope this helps a little...
Cacey

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Julie Cregger in New Market, Maryland

76 months ago

Rebecca Gomez in Lees Summit, Missouri said: I primarily do builder work since that is my major relationship but it spured off into individuals homes. Though exposure in model homes, I was approached by a high end furniture and accessory store to help teach a design 101 course. It also increased my exposure. .