What happened to Pacific College of Med Assistants in San Diego, CA?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 114)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Theresa Theobald in Eugene, Oregon

84 months ago

I am a 1978 graduate of Pacific College of Medical and Dental Assistants in San Diego, CA. My last name while attending the college was Labate. I need to take the certification class next year. But I cannot find any listing of this school, where my transcripts are, course descriptions and proof that this was an Accredited College. I have to be able to prove that it was accredited for the test. I live in Eugene, OR now. Lane Community College gives the test once a year, in June. Is anyone here a grad from this College? Please help!!
Thanks,
Terri Theobald
chuckt@efn.org

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

B. in Valley Center, California

83 months ago

I am having the same trouble. I only have the graduation picture from the front steps.

83 months ago

Hi B,

Okay, here's what I found out. I called the AAMA (American Association of Medical Assistants). Their website is www.aama-ntl.org. It's a very helpful site. They have access to which colleges were accredited. Pacific College was accredited from 1972 to 1987 through CAAHEP (Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs). www.caahep.org So we are covered on that requirement.

Then I started to look for my transcripts because you must have them to take the cerification test, or meet the standards of the California Certifying Board for Medical Assistants. Go to their website, it will explain to you what the qualifications are. abc.eznettools.net/ccbma/index.html

I called the U.S. Department of Education reguarding closed schools and how to get old transcripts. They are destroyed after 5 years!!! Arggggg!! The woman's name is DeNice Hill and her phone number is 206-615-3638. But it sounds like your transcripts are probably gone too.