Over 50 and can't find a job in Vegas

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 60)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Debi

80 months ago

I went to school to become a CMA. What they didn't tell me was it seems like no one wants someone who's over 50. It's all about the money. When I graduated they got me an externship working for a podiatrist!!! I learned about EKGs and Blood draws for THAT? I was lucky enough to find another Dr. who took me on for the rest of my externship. I worked there after it was over but then had my hours shortened so I had to leave. It's been TWO YEARS and I still can't find a job. It's the same old story.......you aren't hired because you don't have experience. HOW CAN YOU GET EXPERIENCE IF NO ONE WILL HIRE YOU???????
I have gotten divorced and can't get a life and support myself because of all this. Doesn't anyone care? I know how to deal with patients. I was a dental assistant for over 15 years. It's not brain surgery people.
Thanks for letting me vent. I'm sure it won't help me find a job but I feel your pain when I read postings about no one else being able to find a job either........

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No Reply - Report abuse

Diane

80 months ago

Thanks, I received your resume. I will be calling you soon for an interview on Thursday.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

IAMACMA in Henderson, Nevada

80 months ago

UPDATE ON PERSON WHO RESPONDED TO MY SEARCHING FOR A JOB.....
Well-I sent my resume. After countless calls and B.S. this woman just disappeared. Go figure huh? It's not bad enough that I'm struggling to find a job but NOW I'm faced with people who are only interested in playing cat and mouse games.