Medical Billing Job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

valentine in Salt Lake City, Utah

58 months ago

haydee in Riverside, California said: i am a certified medical biller and coder i graduated in march 24,2010 and i have found nothing everyone want 3+ years..Does anyone know how or if they are hiring near my area for entry level?? thank you

Unfortunately this field is over saturated with new grads with no experience. Your best bet is to try to find a job elsewhere in HIM, such as medical records, billing, data entry or front desk, gain medical experience and become more familiar with ICD 9, CPT and reimbursement. After gaining your experience, leverage for a coding job.

I know it is disheartening to finish school and then have to take a low entry job, but that is how most of us started out.

Good Luck

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

57 months ago

Kellyel in Hyattsville, Maryland said: Micki87,

I am in Hyattsville, MD and looking at a school in Lanham, MD. I am due to start in November and have become disheartened reading all of these post. What school do you attend? The school I am looking at is Fortis College and they have a 66% placement rate, that is very concerning for me. The tuition is 13k and they only offer the AAPC certification. I am seriously trying to figure out if this is where I need to be or if I can take a less expensive route to gain the knowledge needed to get my foot in the door.

I would not suggest paying $13,000, especially if you are getting a certificate/diploma. I just go to your local community, technical or vocational school.

There is nothing wrong with an AAPC credential, I am a CPC and have done very well with it.

Kellyel in Hyattsville, Maryland

57 months ago

valentine in Salt Lake City, Utah said: I would not suggest paying $13,000, especially if you are getting a certificate/diploma. I just go to your local community, technical or vocational school.