Thinking of changing career from Medical Tech to coder - (possibly Certified Tumor Regsitrar) - is it worth it?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

kshill5 in Northern NJ, New Jersey

33 months ago

Hi all,
I have been an ASCP certified Medical Technologist for 10 years and also received my Master in Public Health in 2001 and worked for 5 years in child health policy research. I returned to Med Tech after my kids were born so that I could have a less stressfull, part time job. I have 2 more years before my children are in school full time and I am looking at other career opportunities. I enjoy being a med tech (working independently, little patient contact, don't bring work home), but I feel there is no place to advance. I enjoy working with data in research, but not the public heatlh aspect - I am more interested in the clinical side.

My background and interests are in hematology/oncology and I am currently a part time med tech in an outpatient cancer center. Searching the internet and jobs, I have come across the certified cancer registrar/Cancer Registry Management jobs. I am wondering if it makes sense to get certified and start a new career. With a BS and MPH, where would I start? I'm hoping for not more than a year of training before getting certified. As far as getting a job, would my healthcare background help me at all or would I be starting from step 1?

I feel like the work itself would be a good fit for me but as a med tech in my area I can make roughly $55k a year. Would a job in Cancer coding be a step up, comprarable or step down and what about advancements? Thanks for your help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

janm in Ann Arbor, Michigan

30 months ago