MLT to MT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 72)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

JD in Levittown, New York

58 months ago

Hello
I am curently a ASCP Medical Lab Tech in New york with a license and with an associates degree.
i have been working for 3 years and I am interested in taking the test to become a technologist. Do you HAVE to have a a bachelors degree to do so? Does work experience take the place of more schooling? Or is getting the bachelors the only way?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (39) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

CLS48 in California

58 months ago

Fortunately they do require a bachelors. It's not weak like the AMT or AAB where you can have a shortcut to "MT" certification without a bachelors.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Rus in Chickasha, Oklahoma

58 months ago

There are schools out there, however, that offer online "transitional" bachelors degree programs if you have your MLT and work in a lab willing to help you with your internship. My program director really pushed one here in Oklahoma. It is supposed to be a fairly nasty-hard program, but I find myself thinking about it more and more often. It sounds like a nifty deal to me.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

CLS48 in California

58 months ago

Rus in Chickasha, Oklahoma said: There are schools out there, however, that offer online "transitional" bachelors degree programs if you have your MLT and work in a lab willing to help you with your internship. My program director really pushed one here in Oklahoma. It is supposed to be a fairly nasty-hard program, but I find myself thinking about it more and more often. It sounds like a nifty deal to me.

That does sound like a good deal. It's still a bachelors degree and you get an internship with it also even though it's online.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Tommy

58 months ago