I failed the ASCP exam

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 56)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

WhiskeySlick in California

33 months ago

Sorry to hear. Most people take the test within weeks of graduating, do you think your extended time off influenced your outcome?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

ifwisheswerehorses in Centerport, New York

33 months ago

Calimedtech said: I was shocked. I have been training for three years and I took a few months off after graduating to study 6 hours a day 5 days a week for the exam and I failed........ust wanted to share this, I think I learned that too much studying for one thing can make your mind dull to it. I'm giving my mind a break...

More than likely you tried to overstudy. Which review book did you use? (or did you just rely on your school notes) The ASCP is a very comprehensive test, and if you tried to remember every single detail it will scramble your mind more. Make sure you focus on the main points in each area first. It's ok, just take it again in 3 months! This time you know how the questions are worded and how to study better. Remember it's not 40% pass, it's based on a point system that adds up to 999. If your points add up and over 400, then you pass. Easy questions are worth very little points, and hard questions are worth more points. If you answer a question wrong, you get no points. Did you noticed if you answer a easy question right, it gets harder and harder? Hence, if you constantly get easy questions(as in very general questions like what is myleoperoxidase used to stain?) then it's not a good sign. But keep trying!

Honestly, if you can not pass even though you had 3 months without work to study, I would seriously think about it before working & trying to take the test! Good Luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Steph in Sampaloc, Philippines

33 months ago