Network Administration Job w/o an IT degree

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

TheR in Wyoming, Michigan

66 months ago

I currently have my Bachelor's Degree in a non-computer related field. I am wondering, should I go back to school or would it be a better idea to just earn Cisco, Microsoft, CompTIA certifications and job hunt once I earn my certs.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Nisha Dogra in Rancho Cucomonga

65 months ago

My suggestion is just grab the opportunity, start working as a Network Administrator and in the mean time start working towards other certification. It will help you in a many ways...

Cheers!
Nisha

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

John in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

65 months ago

I am in a similar situation. I studied fine arts, drawing and painting in School. Worthless, even though i have pretty strong abilities. I took cisco classes in high school however and began reading some on networking recently and have rediscovered an interest in it. Is the CCNA going to make me employable? DO I NEED at least an associates? It seems that having all the specialized knowledge required for a CCNA would make one plenty qualified to do the work as network associate or administrator. ANY advice????

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

0422nowork in Batavia, New York

65 months ago

Most true Net Admin positions require some sort of certs or equiv hands-on. If you do not have the latter, the former will get you in the door. I was laid off in '08 and in my job searching process, I found that there were several Net Admin positions I could not apply for due to the fact that cert. was a requirement.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

John in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

65 months ago