Average Caseload

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (20)

Overworked Paralegal in Wichita, Kansas

51 months ago

I'm a paralegal working at a plaintiff firm handling personal injury cases and was very curious about trying to find out what the average caseload is for personal injury cases. The way our firm is set up, there are 2 attorneys and 3 paralegals. We have no support staff whatsoever - only a runner who does just that - runs. The rest of the time she is answering the phones and we're not permitted to ask her for help at all. We have no file clerk, no secretary - it's just the 3 paralegals. Each of us have between 90-120 cases. I've been a paralegal for almost 15 years and have always had support staff but have only worked Plaintiff's side for about a year. I absolutely cannot get caught up and I don't know if it's me or if his expectations are too high expecting 1 person to do the entire workload of 90-120 cases from beginning up through trial - including the basic filing and dictation.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Mary inTampa in Tampa, Florida

51 months ago

The expectations are too high. They are going to work you to death - until you quit or get fired. I bet you go home absolutely fried.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

Overworked Paralegal in Wichita, Kansas

51 months ago