Best Way To Break In?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 83)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

MetaFitX in Akron, Ohio

64 months ago

Hello everybody,

I'm a recent university graduate seeking to become career paralegal. If you had to give a complete newb one piece of advice pertaining to getting your foot in the door, what would it be?

I should also mention that I do not have any experience in the way of internships, nor is my major actually IN paralegal studies (Political Science). I would not be adverse to starting as a legal secretary just to start out.

Thanks,

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

Paralegal in Carrollton, Texas

64 months ago

See if you can get a receptionist of file clerk gig. Maybe get an ABA approved paralegal certificate. Network with friends who might be able to hook you up with attorneys.

I don't think you will be able to start as a legal secretary or paralegal, unless it's a little bitty office and you are the receptionist AND secretary AND paralegal.

There are just so few legal support jobs now, but you are in luck in that you are entry level and are probably willing to take an $8/hour job just to get into the field.

Those of us with experience expecting $20-30/hour are out of luck. Not many of these types of jobs available now.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

kmm in Wilmington, Delaware

64 months ago

My first job was in a sole-practioner law office. It was the best experience. Pay was $11/hour - no benefits.

Great job. No stress really. AFter that, the jobs were stressful- some more than others.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

64 months ago

P.S. - The position referenced above was advertised in the local newspaper. (not the legal newspaper)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

64 months ago