How to get a Pharmacy technician job with no previous retail or hospital experience?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 318)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Carry in Houston, Texas

67 months ago

Been turned down for 4 years as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. Went to school got certified and registered. The problem, I have No experience. So how can I get a pharmacy technician job without no previous pharmacy technician experience, only school experience. I'd go into a pharmacy to speak to the head Pharmacist and it seems they look at you good first, then say no openings and will tell me to try elsewhere???? I even took a job readiness class so I know how to speak and dress somewhat professional, clean looking, natural hair color, close toe shoes, clean nails etc. even when walking in. Do they pick by appearance and choose whom they prefer to work there? Of course they will pick the one with more experience but how can I even start if I never get hired? I also heard that the staff won't have the time to train you if you are new so they won't bother hiring you???? Why won't they even give someone new to the field a try? How to get a Pharmacy technician job with no previous retail or hospital experience?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (325) / No (60) Reply - Report abuse

mami in Chicago, Illinois

65 months ago

And also there is no room to growth as a pharmacy tech. you will never going to get pay as a pharmacist. i know a lady who has been working in the field for 12 years and she still aking about $14. that definatly a waste of time. i will suggest to everyone to give up that S... and leave that job to the pharmacist since the making all the money they will be able to handle it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (31) / No (25) Reply - Report abuse

j in Brea, California

65 months ago