Tips for getting into PTA school?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

AnnieSmith in Denver, Colorado

41 months ago

Hi,
I will be applying to the PTA program at Arapahoe Community College in Colorado soon. Does anyone have any helpful tips? My background is not in the medical field but I have completed all of the job shadowing (loved it!) and prerequisite classes with good grades. I am really excited to change careers and work in a meaningful field that encourages healthy living.

I have heard that the program is very competitive and I am nervous about this.

Thanks for your help!
Annie

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

pta in Binghamton, New York

41 months ago

Get all A's for the pre-reqs!..and volunteer for 50 hours at a hospital in the PT department

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Rebecca in Maryville, Tennessee

41 months ago

I agree with the previous comment. To get into my program, you needed all 'A's in your pre-reqs...plus 30 observation hours and a strong interview.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

AnnieSmith in Denver, Colorado

41 months ago

Thanks to both of you for the great advice!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

DaveMan in Pepperell, Massachusetts

40 months ago

Does having a bachelors degree in an unrelated field like business help you out much? My GPA was kinda average 3.0 though.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Rebecca in Knoxville, Tennessee

40 months ago

Overall, I think a BS Degree does help in the following ways...

In terms of admission to the PTA program, my college gave 'points' for a previous degree. We had 115 people apply to the PTA program; they only accepted 21. About 2/3 of us have at least a bachelor's degree (one student has a master's).