Radiation Therapy

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 76)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Sunflora in Orange Park, Florida

73 months ago

I'm a rad tech and am interested in switching to therapy (via 12 month program). I was wondering if therapy keeps you on your feet as much as diagnostic.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Angel in Pensacola, Florida

73 months ago

Rad therapy definitely has you on your feet more than x-ray. I've been doing therapy for 15 years, and while we don't have to go in and out of the room as much as we used to, you definitely are on your feet a lot. BUT, saying this, I wouldn't go back to working in x-ray for anything.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Sunflora in Orange Park, Florida

73 months ago

Thanks Angel for the info.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Sharon in Covington, Georgia

73 months ago

Angel in Pensacola, Florida said: Rad therapy definitely has you on your feet more than x-ray. I've been doing therapy for 15 years, and while we don't have to go in and out of the room as much as we used to, you definitely are on your feet a lot. BUT, saying this, I wouldn't go back to working in x-ray for anything.

I been waiting to find someone on the forum that's been in the field for years. I am an LPN waiting to enter an assoc. degree program for radiation therapy in Georgia. I'm hearing from my advisor that the outlook for this career is not as promising due to the amount of students graduating from current programs. Are you experiencing the same in Florida? Should I be worried about job placement? Also, do you know how much a new grad is expected to make coming out of school? What is a typical day like for a radiation therapist?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Cayce in Bowling Green, Kentucky

72 months ago