Does a radiographer have responsibility to hold the patient?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

Man in Central District, Hong Kong

76 months ago

Hi everyone, I'm studying radiography in Hong Kong, and I'm doing an assignment, which requires me to seek information from practicing radiologic technologists.

Here is the situation:
If a pregnant woman accompanied a little boy into the x-ray room for skull X-ray and the boy is reacting vigorously. I know that it is necessary to ask the parent to hold the boy tightly during the exposure, however, the boy's mother is pregnant.

Does a radiologic technologist have responsibility to hold the patient?

Sorry for my poor English and I hope you guys can understand.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

candy in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

75 months ago

It is always preferable to have a family member hold a patient but when that is not possible, as in the case of the mother being pregnant, the technologist must find someone else. This can be a nurse or another family member (if either one is available). If there is no one else available, then yes the responsibility falls on the technologist. Just remember to shield yourself.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Kelly in Knoxville, Tennessee

74 months ago

I agree with Candy, but in a realistic atmosphere a neerby tech would have to hold in order to protect the mother. Nurses are not ussually eager to help when it is not there job. There will be many times the tech will have to hold pt. into position, radiation is our job it happens.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

Jamie in Nashville, Tennessee

73 months ago