MSW or RN

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 63)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

McSmith in Mableton, Georgia

72 months ago

I'm a recent graduate with a BSW having trouble finding a job with my degree. I love Social Work and am proud to have my BSW degree, but I'm getting caught in the old "no experience- no job, no job- no experience" trap. I am highly interested in working in Medical Social Work and realize that I will need an LCSW to do this.

I had initally planned to spend the year after graduation getting experience in the field using my BSW to take a break from school and either save up for or find a company that would reimburse tuition for the MSW. I haven't had any offers since May after applying to over 70 SW jobs and I'm now working at a menial $8/hr 3rd shift retail job to pay the bills. Right now I'm open to anything better, but it seems my resume is spontaneously combusting out there and my degree doesn't mean anything.

I'm researching my options now and it seems that I might be better off getting an RN degree. There are a few accelerated RN programs for people already holding 4 year degrees in my area. I think I'd really enjoy being a nurse, plus the extrensic benifits are much greater (pay, respect...) Has anyone else taken this track?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (80) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Joe in Toronto, Ontario

70 months ago