Anyone Experience This?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1)

MsKitty75 in Salt Lake City, Utah

27 months ago

I've been a Tech for almost 2 years. I got my start at a smaller hospital, but left because the patient care was not so great. Some of the doctors, while nice personality-wise, practiced out of date medicine and seemed to care more about dogs than any other species. I went to work at another hospital where it is a much larger practice and more modern. However, that is not the issue. I was brought on board because although I have experience, I was still new to the field and they felt that they could "mold" me to what they wanted me to be. In the three months I have been there, I am more like a glorified Vet Assistant rather than tech. They will not allow me to do dentals (only one I've done is on my own cat!), place IV catheters, or do the things like the other techs do. We have doctor/tech teams and I was told at the end of my 90 days, I would be assigned a doctor. However, at my review, I was told that since I have yet to prove myself, I will not be assigned to a doc until I have been there a year and the doctor has to request me. They will not give me the opportunity to do things to prove myself!