Women Welders

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 303)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Sandy in East Texas in Yantis, Texas

75 months ago

I am a woman welder and have 35 year experience. Why is it so hard for men to accept a women out in the field. I am 6G certified have my own rig. I apply and they say they will call back but never do. I had one man tell me that he thought it would be to destracting to have a woman in the field. I have worked as a structural welder and was the only woman there. I did not stop production and I did not cause any accidents. What is it with all the excuses?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (95) / No (19) Reply - Report abuse

DON JUAN in Palm Coast, Florida

75 months ago

I think it is great that woman are in this occupation. And from what i understand Women were responsable for a great majority of the welding during WW2 on the liberty ships and other various pieces of military equipment.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Sandy in East Texas in Quitman, Texas

75 months ago

What I am finding is how bad the discrimination is in the field of pipeline welding. I had one man that I talked to about a welding job say that he thought it would be destracting to have a women working in the field. Another said he was not having a women welder on the job. I am sure if I wanted to weld on a ship in a ship yard right now I could but that is not the field I was interested in. I can get a job in a shop (been there done that, not interested) I have paid my dues. The question is how do you fight the discrimination?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (34) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

joss in Birmingham, United Kingdom

75 months ago