Does ANYONE hire inexperienced welders?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (46)

Zxcvasdf in Tulsa, Oklahoma

62 months ago

Over 1 month ago I graduated from Tulsa Welding School. Since then, I've done everything I can think of to find work, but because I have no prior workplace welding experience, NO ONE will even interview me or allow me to take a weld test, they simply tell me I'm not what they're looking for. My situation is that I need experience to get work, I need work to get experience. What do I need to do to even get a chance at a job?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (209) / No (28) Reply - Report abuse

62 months ago

I've searched for volunteering, internship, and apprenticeship opportunities for me, and haven't found anything at all, experience required or not. I do not own the tools and facilities I would need to start a small business, nor do I have enough credit or collateral to take out a small business loan.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

AsktheCareerLady in East Bay, California

62 months ago

Guide

Sometimes it's not about "finding" an opportunity but creating one. You have to be very proactive and determined. Can you volunteer at your school as a teaching assistant in the welding classes? Have you contacted the school's career services department to find out if they have any leads? What comes up for "welding" in your local area at superpages.com? Have you cold-called all of them to ask if you can intern or volunteer with their organization?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

62 months ago