Am I too old to start my way to becoming a wildlife biologist?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Jason

45 months ago

Hi there! I have been working in the medical field for the past 6 years and I'm wanting to change career. My passion for wildlife and the outdoors has always made want to be a wildlife biologist but me being 25 now makes me think I am too old to start. Is there anybody out there that has started at my age? Is it too late for me to start working on a wildlife biology degree? Also with math being a big part of biology does it require you to be efficient in math? Being a wildlife biologist do you use things like calculus in the field?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

AC in Stockton, California

43 months ago

I started at the age of 25 in a wildlife degree and I know people who started even later. I finished a degree when I was 28 and have worked a few years in the field. It depends a lot on how willing you are to travel. I have a family (wife and child) that during certain times of year I only see for a day or two every other week so it is really hard with a family, but possible if you really have a passion and can compromise. You won't make a lot of money at first either, but the more experience you gain the more you will earn. It is a competitive field but experience goes along way in this field. Also GIS work is a great help and personality can sometimes make or break a job offer. I love the field and wouldn't trade it for any other but I would say you work harder in this field to get ahead than many others. I hope you go for it if you really want it. Math is impotant to certain jobs but I would say it is not a big part of your time in most jobs.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No Reply - Report abuse

Lisa in Crest Hill, Illinois

41 months ago