Houston is dead now

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Real Tech in Willis, Texas

64 months ago

I have been hearing that Houston was the number 2 city for economic growth over the past year. I have seen Out of state plates daily. I was laid off from the oil exploration industry like many others recently. I am a very experienced Electronics Technician and never before have I ever had difficulty finding a job. Now there are very few jobs available. Even the temporary staffing agencies have nothing. If Houston is number 2 in the country then the rest of it must really be down the tubes. It seems that if a person dose get re-employed they will have to take a 30-50% pay cut. I have a friend in the rent house business and 2 of his tenants have been laid off and can't seem to find another job. He will probably lower the rent to get others in. Everyone that I know has friends that have been laid off. In Houston I believe that the worse is yet to come. All I can do is keep trying one day at a time. For the first time in my life I do not want to think what the future may bring for me. If this goes on how do I pay the mortgage, support my family and pay child support on an unemployment check and still survive until I find something. Is this the change Americans wanted?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Ticked off/laid off in Houston, Texas

64 months ago