Does a Degree Really Make You More Valuable?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Administrator in Seabrook, Texas

17 months ago

I have over 15 years of experience in the Administrative field yet the jobs that I am qualified for want you to have a degree. I will say that most of these jobs I am OVER QUALIFIED for. So what difference does it really make if I have a degree or not? Why are so many companies requiring this?

I'm frustrated and out of work. I have worked contract most of my life because it paid more.

I have SAP skills, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Lotus Notes, 70WPM, Project Experience, Accounts Payables and Receivables, Ledger knowledge, Workers Hours (upkeep/submission),plus all basic knowledge needed to run an office (and I could add about 30 other things I have experience in with running an office). So why in the world is it so hard to find a good paying full time job without a degree?

If work contract with my skills alone I can make $20/hr. Now if I go out by myself and try to find full time work with the same skills and no degree I could maybe get $14 if I'm lucky.

What is so odd to me is that some of these companies who want an Admin with a degree are only paying maybe 16-20 an hour? Really?

None of this makes any sense to me. I guess it's back to the Job Agencies and working contract for me.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

ls in Houston, Texas

17 months ago

to "Administrator in Seabrook" I have the same problem. Every great job I apply for, no response except for scams and perverts. I have really been what I consider to be a serious victim of scams twice in the past 9 months. I am so sick of having no money I could scream. I don't even get calls for the $10 jobs. I went back to school and got a degree, now I owe student loans. A bachelor's degree in Business Administration hasn't helped me one bit.