Been out of work for a year! It's ridiculous!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (22)

Dave Stutesman in Kansas City, Missouri

73 months ago

How is a person supposed to find work when mgrs. don't want to see you as useful? I was injured last year, and everytime someone sees my resume, or application, they don't want to talk to me, or recognize that I exist. It's as if all the rules say - you can't hire him, even though I'm still capable. It used to be that people understood & they'd give you a chance to get back into circulation. Now it's like your trash. Dave.....

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No Reply - Report abuse

M in Hampton, Virginia

73 months ago

Dave,
I know how you feel.. I have OVER TEN YEARS worth of experience but my boss of three years FIRED ME in May. I've been searching and searching but just cannot find a job no matter how hard I try. It's been a real blow to my self-esteem and I feel like NO ONE will hire me. We have a mortgage due and I am scared to death I'm going to lose my house if I don't get a job like NOW! It hurts. Just know in this climate, you're not alone--it is really truly tough out there.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No Reply - Report abuse

Deborah James in Alameda, California

73 months ago

There's some really scary stuff going on in the labor market now. Years ago, I took off time to raise my family. I continued to work on a temporary basis to keep my skills up. I had an incredible time getting back into the workforce full time, although I had nearly 15 years' experience at the time.

I know a lady who always to study ART. She worked a part time job and a full time job for nearly 3 years to save her money to go back to school and get an AA degree in ART. When she was re-entering the workforce, employers acted like she had bubonic plague.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

M in Hampton, Virginia

73 months ago