Experienced Administrative Asst. Unable to Find Decent Work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (13)

DLaing22 in Miami, Florida

78 months ago

I am a professional Administrative Assistant who worked for over 20 years at a real estate company before my job was suddenly terminated by a company takeover last year.
Since then, I have been trying my hardest to find a job the best way I know how by responding to ads and seeing recruiters, but a year a later have not been offered a single decent position.
I understand that a big problem here is pay. I have been a professional Assistant for over 25 years and will not accept an entry-level salary. Ignoring experience, no home-owning person can live on a $25-$30K base salary in South Florida.
I previously earned in the upper 40s but I am willing to lower my expectations to the mid-30s if the job is right. I simply cannot live on less than that. So far, I have been offered four jobs that all paid under $16 an hour for serious work.
I have spent nearly one year in endless interviews, hearing employers and recruiters laud my experience and skills, but all never calling me again after the interview was over.
I have been called back for second interviews, where the employment prospect finally seemed very promising, only to be met with silence in the following days.
I have become very cynical, and very confused. I completely understand that I am in Miami, and not being 25 years old with a four-year degree who will work without benefits is a disadvantage.
But I like to believe that my professionalism and experience should speak for themselves and ultimately be worth more to an organization than youth or the ability to speak Spanish.