Unemployed accountant - a casualty of downsizing due to the recession

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

C W in Oviedo, Florida

68 months ago

Hi, I hope someone might have a lead for me. I have over 20 plus years accounting & finance experience, half of which has been spent in the construction industry. I'm a family man with many obligations and is desparate to find work. I'm open to any area of accounting/finance/business and any industry. Construction is dead! I've tried applying to hospitality jobs, healthcare, but they all want 2-3 years experience. I'm hard working, honest, & dependable. Just need a chance. Thanks.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

pollyanna in East Lyme, Connecticut

68 months ago

I can sympathize with you, as I have more than 20 years experience in accounting/finance. It took me 10 months to find a job in Connecticut; I did land a good one as Director of Finance with a nonprofit (my background) which is stable and I should be able to finish out my working years with them.

As for leads, the best thing you can do is network, network, network. Let friends, former employers and others know that you are looking for a job. Join an organization that can help supply leads. As far as your resume and cover letter are concerned, these are your first impression on prospective employers, so make sure someone reviews them to make sure they are top notch. Look at what your transferrable skills are so that you can tie them into open positions. Research companies and compliment them on their achievements in your cover letter and then go onto the skills/achievements you have that can bring added value to the organization. Tailor your resume and cover letter to each position for which you are applying.