Just moved to San Antonio w/ a misdemeanor in CA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Human Services Major in San Antonio, Texas

62 months ago

Hello, I just moved to San Antonio from CA. I have a BS degree in Human Services and up until my move I had been employed as a medi-caid worker for the county social services for 3 years. I am EXCELLENT worker and am great at the type of work that I do. I have raving letters of recommendations and references and am highly experienced in social services in various settings and case management. I am scared because back in 2007 I had a misdemeanor conviction for disturbing the peace; fighting for being involved in a domestic dispute with my boyfriend, then in 2008 I was convicted of contempt of a domestic violence order after having another argument with my boyfriend. Since then my boyfriend and I have worked on our issues and have since gotten married and live a much more harmonious and peaceful life. My next step is to get my record expunged when my probation ends in May 2010. Right now we are only living on one income and it is clear that we will be having financial trouble if I cannot find a job soon. I am a good person who made a couple of mistakes which I deeply regret.

Does anyone know of any social service agencies in the area that may be open to hiring someone like me? and does anyone know if the background checks done by the state of Texas (medicaid, texas works, snap) will pull up convictions from california?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

NikkiJ in Converse, Texas

61 months ago

Hi there, and welcome to San Antonio! My name is Nicole, and I am a part of an organization I believe might interest you. Recently, I had been laid off from the Accounting/Admin job I had worked at for over 3 years. After weeks of no luck in finding a suitable replacement job, the bills were piling up, and I knew I had to find a solution.