Age discrimination in Silicon Valley?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

D Weaver in Silicon Valley, California

73 months ago

Hello All,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm hoping some of you could shed some light to this concern of mine.

I was laid off on Jan 2009. I've worked for a major computer company for nearly 10 years in New York. I was then relocated in the Bay Area in Jan 2008. I'm well educated with several degrees (AS degree in Computer Science, BS degree in Information Systems, BS degree in Psychology, and MS in Computer Engineering) and several technical certifications. I'm US-born, btw.

I just turned 40 and I am having a difficult time getting hired here in CA. I do get phone and in person interviews and do fairly well; but when it comes down to asking my date of birth and what year I graduated high school, I'm feeling that this is an illegal hiring question. I do answer these questions, however, as not to create any waves. Days after the interview, I get a response from the HR-Rep stating that the hiring manager "was very please with our interview but decided with someone who was fresh out of school." The job requirements asked for someone with 5 to 10 years experience!?!

So my questions are:
Is there age discrimination in Silicon Valley?
What does one do if faced with an illegal interview/hiring question?
Could a company be flagged/reported for unfair hiring practices?

I greatly appreciate your suggestions

Cheers,
DW

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

YourInterviewCoach in South Haven, Michigan

73 months ago

There is age discrimination everywhere, not just in the Silicon Valley. The EEOC's Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 only protects workers who are 40 years old and older from age discrimination and in workplaces with 20 or more employees.