Almost Suicidal and Age Discriminaton

Comments (1 to 50 of 59)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Almost Suicidal in San Antonio, Texas

24 months ago

I left a career in social work and worked part time and temp jobs while raising my fabulous kid who is now on a great scholarship and good school.

I got a master's degree in 08, and figured when she launched off to college I would launch my new career. Ha.

Hahahahahah.

So I packed up the house we had lived in that belonged to her father. I figured the rent would help with her expenses, and I left the lovely state of Texas for a nearby state that seemed to have better opportunities in my field.

It did not. And I am now applying for jobs that requires far less education than I borrowed tons of government money to get. But I'm seeing younger people who have far less work and life experience than I, not even acknowledge my resume and carefully crafted cover letter...because 50 is ancient? Really???????

Beth in Plano in Plano, Texas

24 months ago

Don't do something that would hurt your family.
You will find a good job.

What did you major in at college ?

24 months ago

Thanks, Beth. I won't. I'm looking after my elderly parents! Better to hang in there than hang it up, I know. But I can certainly understand how the suicide rate among my age group is up!

Missy in San Antonio, Texas

24 months ago

Don't give up looking for work. I am over 50 and cannot even get an interview. Part of the problem is the "Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC)." Businesses are given a tax break for hiring certain TARGET GROUPS. Take a look at the Texas Workforce Commission website.

Overview of WOTC: The main objective of this program is to enable individuals to become employed, earn a steady income and become contributing taxpayers. WOTC joins other workforce programs that help provide incentives for workplace diversity and improve access to good jobs for American workers.

Mary inTampa in Jacksonville, Florida

24 months ago