Aspiring IT geek, looking for direction.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

hermanwong in Honolulu, Hawaii

4 months ago

Okay, so I guess I'm in a bit of a bad spot:
Turning 30 this year, living with my mother(would probably be in a basement if we didn't live in an apartment), more or less jobless because I can't maintain my tutoring gig(which was 4 hours a week anyway).

I have a 2-year Welding Degree I never used, tried Accounting because I figured I was better with my head than my hands(I was right), but I got bored to death of that and switched to Information Technology.

It was the right choice...sort of. Found out I had a knack for programming, certainly well enough that the college deemed me worthy to pay me to tutor their IT students. One little problem: I was in IT rather than a Computer Science major. Didn't really figure this out until late in the game when I tried looking for a job and found 2 things: 1) They want a Comp Sci major and 2) They want a Bachelor's Degree.

Because I spent the better part of 7 years faffing about in a retail job instead of getting a STEM degree, I'm almost 30 and with no valuable skills other than stocking fruit on display tables.

I largely feel as though the college lied to me about a great many things. I did mention, multiple times, that I was interested in programming, yet nobody there bothered to correct me that I was in the wrong major for it. They post numerous companies for which they hire out their students to and intern to, yet when I try to ask the program coordinator for help in getting a job to fulfill my internship requirement, he just points me over to a website for the Hawaiian Electric Company where they have a summer internship program, once. Never talks to me again, just keeps dodging me. I was under the impression they had more direct connections, never understood why I would need the college if I could simply be hired without my degree in hand to begin with.