Associate degree in IT, no IT job and no experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (25)

coqui04 in Virginia Beach, Virginia

31 months ago

I got my Associate degree in IT in Dec 2010 and have been looking for an IT job ever since. I have applied to TONS of positions and not a single phone call. I'm mostly applying for help desk, pc techs kind of jobs as I figured that's what I could do to start in an entry level position and then move up as I gain experience. The only problem is a lot of companies want TONS OF EXPERIENCE for an entry level!!! That doesn't even make sense! The only experience I have is the stuff I learned from my classes.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

31 months ago

No I didn't go to ITT Tech. I got my degree from a community college

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

31 months ago

I'm currently in the process to transfer to a 4 year school. Only downside is about 90% of the classes I need to take are not even IT. All are business.
My search continues. Every pc tech, tech support, or help desk opening I apply to I emphasize that I have a current A+ Cert. You would think that's what you would need to get an entry level IT job, apparently that's not the case.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Bluetea in Texas

31 months ago

coqui04 in Virginia Beach, Virginia said: I got my Associate degree in IT in Dec 2010 and have been looking for an IT job ever since. I have applied to TONS of positions and not a single phone call. I'm mostly applying for help desk, pc techs kind of jobs as I figured that's what I could do to start in an entry level position and then move up as I gain experience. The only problem is a lot of companies want TONS OF EXPERIENCE for an entry level!!! That doesn't even make sense! The only experience I have is the stuff I learned from my classes.