Bachelor's degree but no job skills!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

recentgrad88 in York, Pennsylvania

50 months ago

I just graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in a pretty much useless degree--Interdisciplinary Studies--which meant I was able to choose classes from three majors (History, Poli Sci, and Geography) to make my own major because I couldn't decide on one and wanted to still be able to graduate in a timely manner (rather than majoring in more than one discipline, which would've taken at least an extra semester or two). I was hoping to get a government job once I graduated but have found that govt agencies aren't hiring AND that I qualify for almost no positions (except those that require an Associate's Degree or lower). Ideally, I would like to get an internship to get experience at a government agency, non-profit, museum, historical society, or something like that, but the few that I've found are full-time and don't pay and I cannot survive without an income right now, especially since I have to start paying off my school loans in November. Most of the jobs I've come across that are available in my area are accountants, admin assistants, customer service and sales reps, computer and IT jobs, and jobs in the health field, none of which I qualify for. It seems like people with career-specific Associate's are better off than me with my liberal arts Bachelor's and I'm considering starting to take classes toward a certificate or diploma program at my local community college in something like bookkeeping or accounting, paralegal studies, web development/design, graphic design, or even in a trade (I have relatives who make very good money as welders and electricians). Is there any field or kind of job I would qualify for now that I'm unaware of? Would it be a waste to spend more money to take some career-specific classes that would ultimately land me in a job that doesn't pay very well (like as a bookkeeper, admi