Bachelors in History...am i overthinking this?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

harry in Beaumont, Texas

24 months ago

Hi,

I graduated with a Bachelors in History(minor in Spanish) and ever since I left school, I have no had confidence in my degree. Let me explain, when I first graduated, I got a job teaching spanish which i liked but not were i lived. Fast forward a few years later and besides teaching, the only other decent job that I have had was a manager position at a non profit making $13/hr and a banking position making $14/hr.

I do not know what it is, but i feel like even a degree in English/Spanish would be better than my History degree. At least with an English degree, a person can work at a publishing house, edit, do journalism, copy write and technical write. I really liked what I studied and I just feel like I cannot do those things with a degree in History. Am I right to think this or am I overthinking it? Is one BA enough or would it be better to have two? I feel like History should be on par with English, but after all the studies that have come out on the internet especially with the "not every degree is created equal" I am just not so sure yet. Can anyone here give me some insight to this?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Nick in Somerville, Massachusetts

24 months ago

An arts major is useful for three things:

1. Teaching. Get an MA, teach high school, or get a Dr. and teach college.
2. Being an "expert" on a cable TV show. Any special on any historical event looks for people with letters for credibiity.
3. Putting it under your drink so that the condensation doesn't ruin the wood of the table =D

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

24 months ago