Back to school, stay unhappy, or start at the bottom?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (13)

Bfrombham in Birmingham, Alabama

50 months ago

Hi
I graduated in 2010 with my bs in early childhood and elementary education. During college I spent a lot of time working part time retail jobs like many do. Fortunately for me, I am good at business and have been a store manager of a retail business for a while and make a decent salary comparable to what I would make as an educator. However, I am not happy in retail. I want to have a career where I feel as if I make a difference in the lives of others on a more meaningful level. Public school jobs are scarce and early learning centers want certified teachers but pay them nothing with little to no benefits to boot.
I've been offered jobs in early learning centers but the pay is so low I wouldn't be able to afford to survive to take a cut. I've been toying with the idea of returning to school for an associates in let's say nursing.

Are there others with similar experiences and what choice did you come to? Stay in a job you don't like, start on ground level and eat ramen, or bite the bullet and return to school?

- I know there was another similar thread but it was pretty dated so I wanted to create a new one-

- Was this comment helpful?
Yes
/ No
Reply - Report abuse

Riot in Ware, Massachusetts

50 months ago

While this isn't one of the options you listed, have you looked into public school or early education salaries in other parts of the country and how they stack up with standard of living? I'm not in the field, so I don't know for sure, but maybe a new location will offer you better opportunities in your chosen field.

As for your other options, I think the standard advice applies:

1) Nursing isn't a "guaranteed" job anymore.
2) If you do go back to school, make sure you don't take on a ton of debt.