Get out of Retail??

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (47)

Tiffany Elmore in Valdosta, Georgia

45 months ago

How do you get out of Retail in this economy? I have yet to find a good job, that is not retail or part-time, and I have a 2 year computer degree. :(

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (54) / No (14) Reply - Report abuse

dontwanttobea99er in Somerville, Massachusetts

45 months ago

My transcript says I was a 3.8 GPA student, if any of them would bother to ask...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (17) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

Average in Medford, Massachusetts

45 months ago

Ok, now cross out "lousy student" in my previous post and replace that phrase with "uncompetitive". If there are job openings that match your skills and experience,
maybe the employers' resume sorting software doesn't consider you good enough to work for them because you don't fit the template of the ideal candidate , or the employers'resume sorting software only hires people from top-tier schools, or the employers' resume sorting software only hires people through employee referrals. Grades are important, but so are your certs, and internships, and "who you know."

Plus, there's that stigma that retail should be beneath anyone who goes to college. The competitive student,according to them,has an internship, a slew of volunteering commitments, and not a job in retail, which the average employer assumes is for beer money.There's a stigma against people who work in retail. The longer that person stays in, the harder it is for that person to get out.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (32) / No (22) Reply - Report abuse

45 months ago

I guess I'm screwed then, because I've been out of college for 7 years. =P

Too bad too, because I'm smarter, more dedicated, and a harder worker than many, MANY people who somehow qualify for these jobs that I'm getting snubbed for.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (30) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Don