Get out of Retail??

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

Kary in Weston, Massachusetts

73 months ago

I graduated with a BS in accounting almost 6 months ago. All my work experience was in retail and food service as well. I've had many interviews since graduation but no job offers. Employers snub their noses at my work experience because I guess I look like an unmotivated loser. It's hard to get out of retail when the competition is so fierce. I started spending more time checking out temp agencies. I ended up getting a job doing data entry. I don't like it but it's something other than retail while I continue looking. I hate temp agencies with a passion but they really are your best bet when you want to get out of the retail jobs cycle. Apply to as many as possible and check with them as often as possible. And maybe check out yelp.com to help find the better agencies in your area.

- Was this comment helpful?
Reply - Report abuse

Average in Medford, Massachusetts

73 months ago

dontwanttobea99er in Somerville, Massachusetts said: I don't mean to be negative. .
Do you see anyone saying anything positive about getting out of retail?
Kary in Weston, Massachusetts said: I I ended up getting a job doing data entry.[/QUTE]
I think the mini-anecdote you've given is optimistic since many temp agencies give preference to seasoned workers If you know of any staffing agencies in the Boston area where recruiters actually have entry-level data entry jobs to hand out, I'd like to know about it because the Officeteam, and PSGs of the New England staffing agency world weren't very helpful when the unemployment rate was lower, a few years ago.

The last person I talked to, at an unemployment office, didn't even mention temp agencies. She thought I could walk into a clerical job, even though , unlike her,I was a guy, and didn't have a history of temp work because I didn't start out doing temp work in high school.