Getting a Software/Web Developer job with a non-CS/IT degree

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

youngPro13 in New York, New York

25 months ago

Hello All,
I'm a graduate student majoring in Professional Studies with concentrations in Web Development and Project Management. I am nearing my graduation and would like to know how difficult it might be for me to find a full time software developers job this summer?
I have almost 2 years experience as a web developer and I am currently interning in one of the BIGGIES (non-IT) in NY! But, I am still curious to know if my non-CS/non-IT degree could be a hindrance in me finding a full time job!!
I am also an international student. So, I would be seeking employers who could sponsor me! I would appreciate any useful points regarding this.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

NorthOfTheD in Troy, Michigan

25 months ago

The fact that you do indeed have a couple years of web developer experience in the bank (Yes -- "experience" is now as valuable as solid gold) means you'll actually have a shot at attracting a company's attention. Companies don't become instantly overjoyed by a candidate's qualifications (especially in that field) with a simple mention of a degree anymore. They want to see proof that you know what you're doing, and that you're good at it!

So, your challenge won't necessarily be passing yourself off as a competitive candidate without the optimal degree. Rather, your focus should be on providing a method for the potential employers to see your skills and abilities; i.e. building a portfolio, a unique website highlighting yourself, work samples (paper or online) that are similar to the types of projects you'd be taking on at the new company, etc.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

25 months ago

Hey NorthOfTheD,