Getting associate's degree after a bachelor's?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Dave in Delmar, New York

15 months ago

I graduated 2 years ago with a bachelor's degree in graphic design - this is something I had wanted to do since early on in high school so I decided to pursue it in college. However, since graduating I have found it really difficult to find any kind of job in the field - the few that I do find, I apply but never hear back. After doing some research online I found that graphic design jobs just aren't in high demand, and the pay is low, which is not something I want.

Lately I have been rethinking my career path and have thought about going back to school to get an associate's degree in web development. I took one web design course in college, but otherwise have very basic knowledge of the web development field, but I know that these jobs are in much higher demand and the salaries are much higher.

My question is - is an associate's degree the right option? Is it common for people to have a bachelor's but then go for an associate's degree in a somewhat related field? I mean I already have design knowledge and experience which I feel would make me more employable, but I'm just worried that an associate's might not give me enough knowledge to land a good job in web development.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Joe Gagill in Monticello, New York

15 months ago

there's already a whole forum on this. type in getting an associates after a bachelors and hit find forums.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Bluetea in Texas

15 months ago