Go back for another Associate's or no?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

LeAnna Shanks in Buffalo, New York

20 months ago

I have a Bachelor's degree but no relevant job experience for the field I'm interested in. Would it be worth it to go back to a community college for a somewhat relevant degree just so I could have the free time to volunteer/intern for experience during the day? I understand I'd be in more student loan debt, but with a full and part-time job taking up most of my time to pay bills, I'm lost for answers. Advice?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

catfish503 in portland, Oregon

20 months ago

LeAnna Shanks in Buffalo, New York said: I have a Bachelor's degree but no relevant job experience for the field I'm interested in. Would it be worth it to go back to a community college for a somewhat relevant degree just so I could have the free time to volunteer/intern for experience during the day? I understand I'd be in more student loan debt, but with a full and part-time job taking up most of my time to pay bills, I'm lost for answers. Advice?

I would think it depends on what community college degree your looking at...I'm not sure what you mean by you would have free time to volunteer/intern, but full & part-time job takes up most of your time to pay bills. If you need to work would you be quitting your job(s) to go back to school? =)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Experienced Seeker in Schaumburg, Illinois

20 months ago

I don't think it makes any sense to get an Associates if you already have a Bachelor's, unless you are just interested in the specific skills.... employers tend to look at the highest degree you earned, not the order in which you earned them.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Unix Brat in Asheville, North Carolina

20 months ago