Graphic Designer Needs a Career Change

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (201 to 250 of 353)
Page:  « First « Previous   2  3  4  5  6  7  8  Next »   Last »

designer bee in Waukesha, Wisconsin

22 months ago

How did I forget marketing and PR? I'm sure there's probably 10 types of programming I need to know, too. I forgot 3-D animation, running a printing press, and fixing the computer.

I've struggled for a few years here. I got my degree in 2008. Not sure if that was the thing to go back to school for, but too late now.

Right now I'm working on some illustration for a company. It's the old fashioned hand drawn kind. I don't mind doing that, but it's still not helping me keep my skills fresh. I have to do that on my own time.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Bluetea in Texas

22 months ago

designer bee in Waukesha, Wisconsin said: It is a pain to even try to keep up with it all. I always seem to be 5 steps behind what they all want because they want the impossible jack of all trades. I don't think that employers would ask for so much if they actually knew what it all takes to even learn all that and be good at it. The software that we use is complicated enough without adding all the other stuff to it.

I think you forgot to add photography, copywriting, programming, Word Press, Joomla, Java, Actionscript, MS Office, and about 10 other things to your list. Makes my head spin.

They usually ask me about some software that I have never heard of it. Its been out a week and already they want someone with 3 years experience in it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

22 months ago

I've seen ads asking for software that either I never heard of or it's so specialized that you would only learn it on the job. You won't learn it in school.