How To Handle Illegal Questions or Questions That Have Nothing To Do w/One's Ability To Do The Job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (38)

Elizabeth in North Chicago, Illinois

13 months ago

The one downside to applying for reception or general-type office work with doctors and dentists is that they or their practice managers tend to ask illegal questions or ask questions that have nothing to do with the candidate's ability to be able to do the job. (In other words, they want to know about your personal life: who your family is, if your married, if you have kids, who you live with, etc... .)

Having come from larger employers like Quest Diagnostics and the Federal Government where I handled blood and urine as a Specimen Technician, I'm not used to this kind of questioning and prodding because larger employers aren't allowed to go there — ESPECIALLY the Federal Government (HR reps usually sit in on the interviews).

Have any of you ever had to deal with this kind of thing? If so, how do you handle it?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

13 months ago

If sure some of you have if you're like me and trying to find reception or general-type office work with lawyers, real estate agents or other small and medium sized employers, as this seems pretty common place with small and medium sized employers in which doctors, dentists, lawyers, real estate agents, etc... have to wear MULTIPLE hats including HR and do their own hiring.

Bluetea in Texas

13 months ago

Elizabeth in North Chicago, Illinois said: The one downside to applying for reception or general-type office work with doctors and dentists is that they or their practice managers tend to ask illegal questions or ask questions that have nothing to do with the candidate's ability to be able to do the job. (In other words, they want to know about your personal life: who your family is, if your married, if you have kids, who you live with, etc... .)