Is IT an impossible field to get into? in my situation.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (24)

Rob Ouellete in Toronto, Ontario

33 months ago

Hello there, previously I completed an associate's degree in electronics and have found some work in electronics manufacturing. The pay is around 12- 15 bucks an hour, but stable for now. For now because I am worried if manufacturing disappear one day due to outsourcing.

So instead I have starting taking IT courses in college. But after reading online opinions on IT industry, I wonder if I just jumped from pan into the grill if I am looking for a better opportunity?

I can write and learn code okay, but I will be honest and admit that I am not the cream of the crop. I am average at best in terms of IT skills. Setting up domains and active directories and putting together pre-made code from libraries seems to be where I have hit the ceiling in terms of computer skills. But I hear that moderate level IT jobs are outsourced and it seems the WWW is barraged with endless lists of reasons to avoid the IT field also. Also the starting wages for the junior guys don't make much more than what I was making in my other place.

Some people may say that "if you are good you can win in the IT field". But my skills in IT are still average at best. My marks for programming courses are in the mid 60s or so.

Am I making the wrong choice by going into IT? Would I be wasting time and money to start in the IT industry now from scratch even though the pay and stability won't be better than where I was before?

Aside from big-name media sites and obsessed computer folks or those that made it big, there is practically nothing online that says anything positive about this field. The very successful ones tell me that I have to be almost obsessed to succeed in computers. Like keeping up to date with technologies that you may or may not be using.