I'M GETTING SOME INTERVIEWS, BUT NO JOB OFFERS, DO I HAVE A BAD JOB REFERENCE? Please help.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (49)

Robotics Man in Phoenix, Arizona

29 months ago

I’m a licensed electrician with more than 15 years in the trade. I’ve been off work for approximately 9 months after a workforce reduction. I’m still looking, but thankfully I’ve had some interviews in the last 90 days. My interviews seem to go well and on more than one occasion I’ve walked out feeling like I had a good chance of getting an offer.
Even though the interviews seem to go well, I’m not getting offers or second interviews.

When I talked about this with a career counselor he suggested that I might want to have my references checked to see if I have a bad job reference. I admit that I dismissed this as a possibility initially, but the more people I talk to about this (friends, family) the more they seem to agree with my career coach.
So, how do I find out, and what can I do about it if I do have a bad reference?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (38) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Older yet Wiser in St. Paul, Minnesota

29 months ago

I think you may have a problem and I really think you should get it checked out. It could mean getting the job or not.
I had a similar experience where I resigned from a company, joined a new firm, and then got laid off later on due to no fault of my own. I hadn't realized it at first that I had a bad reference when I started my job search, so I wasted several months with this undeserved stain on my record.
As it turned out, My old boss was really saying some aweful and untruthful things about me. I hired a reference checking service CheckYourReference.com to check my references and they found out what was being said by my old boss. I was supplied a multi-page report with with verbatim quotes of what my old boss said, and they even graded her demeanor and tone of voice during the conversation.