Path in IT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

JT999 in Denton, Texas

37 months ago

I have a few questions about my career in Technology. I currently hold an Associates in Computer Science (networking & software). Once i graduated, I got extremely lucky and landed a help desk position with a medium sized business. Everything was great when landing the job and finally getting my foot in the door. However, now I feel stuck. There are a couple of us that handle all the help desk duties such as answering phones, software installations, new workstation setups etc. We have a Network Administrator who refuses to teach us anything (I believe it's due to his own job security). I'm constantly get questions about things that are out of my scope and since I don't have any access to the Servers, i'm unable to get any type of experience. I'm feeling extremely limited in everything. The past couple days i've been thinking about a couple different scenarios that i'm considering in taking my career further. Should I go back to school and get a bachelors or stay where i'm at and go for certifications? I'd like to be a Network Admin handling everything relating to the servers and handling all the equipment that makes the networks run. I've worked with computers my whole life but only 2 of those in the workplace.

Go back to school and get my Bachelors? Or keep my Associates with 2 years experience and get multiple specialized certifications? Net+/CCNA etc.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jeff in Denver, Colorado

37 months ago