Respected certified programs in the medical field?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Sarahsuu in Phoenix, Arizona

13 months ago

Hello currently I work in retail and I think it's about time for a change. I didn't wanna just rush into an associate program without even getting into the medical field to see if it would be something I would be interested in. Therefore I was curious as to what certified programs are out there, and which ones are in higher demand then others? I live near Mesa, Arizona. So maybe if you needed a location as a reference. Any opinions?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Riot in Massachusetts

13 months ago

I'm not in allied health, but I did tutor Biology and Chemistry at a community college, where I did come into contact with a lot of people in these types of programs. These are the conclusions I've come to by talking to people (and reading on the internet):

1) Radiologic Technician (X-Ray) is almost completely saturated. If this field interests you, plan on learning several other modalities and still have trouble finding your first job.
2) Certified Nursing Assistant (usually a short course through the Red Cross or similar) is in demand, but pay is extremely low and you almost certainly end up at a nursing home wiping butts.
3) Medical Coding is in the "don't bother" category. The beginning certifications are very easy to get, so everyone and there mother has them, making it almost impossible to find the first job without knowing someone. This field is also highly offshorable.
4) Health Information Management is a little more desirable than just a Medical Coding certificate and you can make some decent money, but, again, due to offshoring, you may be looking for another field in 10 years or less.
5) Pharmacy technician is another relatively easy field to get into, but pay will start out low and pharmacies seem to be very stressful work environments.