Staffing Agencies

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (26)

courtroch in West Chester, Pennsylvania

27 months ago

So I've been interning at a staffing company for nearly 3 months now and I'm starting to witness some things that I'm not particularly fond of. For starters, the age discrimination is pretty obvious (recruiter, well one in particular, constantly passes up qualified candidates for bubbly, 20 somethings) along with the endless posting of teaser jobs completely aimed at getting people to register. Not to mention the constant CareerBuilder and Monster sourcing. Maybe it's just the place I'm working, but I have the sneaking suspicion that it's not. Has anyone had an experience with staffing agencies on the job seeker end? How was it and would you do it again? I'm wondering if I'm doing a disservice to people by convincing them to interview and waste their time for a position that does not exist.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (13) / No Reply - Report abuse

Motor City in Farmington Hills, Michigan

27 months ago

What you are seeing in your staffing company is how they operate. They call you up and tell you that they are very much interested in meeting you, make an appointment, sit you down in front of a computer and test for Word, Excel, typing and some for math without a calculator and proof reading documents. Then they will talk to you for about 10-15 minutes and tell you that they will call you when something comes in that you would be a good match for, and they never call back. So what to they do with the information? As soon as the person leaves, they get on the phone and call the references and tell them they have such great candidates and want to send them to the client. So you can see that from your end.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

Nick in Somerville, Massachusetts

27 months ago