Switching careers at 37, what to go for? help please.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

solchitlins in Commerce Township, Michigan

54 months ago

Former Chef/Restaurant manager here in Michigan. My parent's and I owned a restaurant/bar for years and years but my heart isn't in it anymore and all those years of working for my parents don't add up to squat to corporate America anyways. Even if I could find a job in my field I would have to start over at the bottom and work my way back up the ladder. Heartbreaking.

So what career paths are still viable? Anything still look like a good shot with 2 to 4 years of schooling?
I'm currently changing careers at 37 years of age. I'm going to Baker college here in Auburn Hills Michigan. I'm studying computer lan security but I don't see where it's going to land me a job especially with just an associates degree, so I'm looking at more years of college and many certificates before I get a job. :(

I rather find something decent that I can make a living at and be employed asap.
Any suggestions?
My college offers: Polysomnographic Technologist, Orthotic/Prosthetic Technology, Radiologic Technologist, Phlebotomy tech, vascular ultrasound tech, sonography , nursing, etc..... as well as IT, Networking, Cisco etc...

I know that I could do the class room Radiology part but then there's the waiting list with the "only top 18 students" emitted into the hospital training part.
so confused, just want a decent job so I can get on with enjoying my life.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Property Management Professional in Dallas, Texas

54 months ago